dave posavetz
chief photographer
Phone: 586-783-0209
Horace Mann Fifth Grader Recognized for Leadership and Commitment to Safety
06 June 2018
MADISON, Wisc. (June 6, 2018) – Today’s all-school awards ceremony at Horace Mann Elementary School in West Allis included a special presentation for fifth grader Bryce Evans, who was recognized as the AAA School Safety Patroller of the Year for the state of Wisconsin.  Evans was nominated by Patrol Advisor Justin Kosek and selected from numerous candidates from across the state based on his leadership qualities, safety knowledge, and school and community involvement. 
“Bryce is caring, conscientious, and hard-working.  He’s demonstrated leadership and a commitment to helping others in his role as a School Safety Patroller,” states Dr. Martin Lexmond, Superintendent of the West Allis-West Milwaukee School District.  “We are all very proud of him and happy that he is being honored in this way.”
According to his nomination, Evans serves as the Captain of Horace Mann’s Safety Patrol and helps train and supervise new members.  In addition to being a Safety Patroller, he also maintained perfect attendance and a high level of academic achievement, was a member of the Choir and Drama Club and volunteered at Community Closet, the school’s donation center.  Evans participated in the Student Council and was elected Treasurer this year, an honor he credited to the increased confidence he found as a patroller.
“The AAA Safety Patrol Program has helped me find my voice,” Evans wrote in the student essay portion of his nomination.  “I used to be shy and would let others speak for me.  The patrol program helped me have the courage to do other things like run for Student Council.”
As Safety Patroller of the Year, Evans also received a free trip to Washington, D.C. in April as part of a special tour group organized by Wisconsin Safety Patrols, Inc. and sponsored by AAA.
“It is an honor to present Bryce with the Patroller of the Year Award,” said Danielle Cooke, Field Manager for AAA – The Auto Club Group.  “He truly embodies the qualities of leadership and service that the AAA School Safety Patrol program seeks to instill in participating students.”
Several local dignitaries were on hand to help honor Evans during today’s ceremony, including West Allis Mayor Dan Devine and Deputy Chief Robert Fletcher of the West Allis Police Department.
A proud tradition since 1920, the AAA School Safety Patrol™ now includes more than 600,000 patrollers in schools nationwide. Students who give their time and energy to make the AAA School Safety Patrol™ a success are encouraged and supported by school officials, parent-teacher groups, police departments, and AAA clubs.

About AAA - Auto Club Group
The Auto Club Group (ACG) is the second largest AAA club in North America.  ACG and its affiliates provide membership, insurance, financial services and travel offerings to over 9.5 million members across eleven states and two U.S. territories including Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Michigan, Nebraska, North Dakota, Tennessee, Wisconsin, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands; most of Illinois and Minnesota; and a portion of Indiana.  ACG belongs to the national AAA federation with more than 58 million members in the United States and Canada and whose mission includes protecting and advancing freedom of mobility and improving traffic safety. Motorists can map a route, identify gas prices, find discounts, book a hotel, and access AAA roadside assistance with the AAA Mobile app for iPhone, iPad and Android. Learn more at AAA clubs can be visited on the Internet at